Compressed Gas Association Announces 2011 Safety Award Winners

Airgas and AirProducts were both recipients of safety awards at the CGA's 99th annual meeting . . .

Chantilly, VA – The Compressed Gas Association (CGA) announced the winners of the 2011 safety awards on April 3, 2012, at the Safety Awards Banquet held in conjunction with the 99th Annual Meeting in St. Petersburg, Florida. CGA is dedicated to the development and promotion of safety standards and safe practices in the industrial and medical gas industry. Each year, CGA pays tribute to its members and their dedication in making the industry safer for employees, distributors, and the public.

“As we approach our 100th anniversary, we are proud to recognize the winners of CGA’s 2011 safety awards program. For a century our members have been focused on creating safety standards to protect manufacturers, distributors, transporters, customers, and the public, with a focus on implementing those standards yielding impressive results,” says Michael Tiller, CGA’s President and CEO. “These awards pay tribute to the 2011 winners but the entire industry is proud of its collective safety record.”

Fleet Safety Excellence Awards

Sponsored by Praxair, Inc., the awards were created in 1988 to recognize outstanding safety performance among the industry’s bulk and cylinder truck delivery fleets. The award is based on a CGA Member Company’s total Vehicle Accident Frequency Rate. There are four awards presented, two for Bulk Gas Transportation and two for Cylinder Gas Transportation. The winners are:

Bulk Gas Transportation:

  • Less than 20 million miles – Western International Gas and Cylinders, Inc.
  • More than 20 million miles – American Air Liquide Holdings, Inc.

Cylinder Gas Transportation:

  • Less than 3 million miles – Western International Gas and Cylinders, Inc.
  • More than 3 million miles – Airgas, Inc.

Leonard Parker Pool Safety Awards

Sponsored by Air Products and Chemicals, Inc., the awards are in memory of Leonard Parker Pool, the founder, and former chief executive of Air Products and Chemicals, Inc. The awards were created in 1978 and are presented annually to participating CGA member companies that have recorded
the greatest improvement in safety performance during the previous two years, and is based upon the total recordable case incidence rates as defined by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration.

There are three divisions of the award. The winners are:

  • Group 1–Over 5 million employee exposure hours – Air Products and Chemicals, Inc.
  • Group 2–Over 750,000 to under 5 million employee exposure hours – Jack B Kelley, Inc.
  • Group 3–Under 750,000 employee exposure hours – Acme Cryogenics, Inc.

Chart Industries Award

The Chart Industries Award for significant and dedicated service to the Compressed Gas Association is presented to an individual who best exemplifies the character, commitment, and excellence prevalent in the volunteers from CGA’s member companies. It was created in 1996 and is awarded to an individual who has consistently and tirelessly taken on the responsibility to uphold and further the mission of the CGA—to develop and promote safety standards and safe practices for the industrial gas industry. The award was presented to Jerry Hayes of American Air Liquide Holdings, Inc.

Charles H. Glasier Safety Award

Sponsored by American Air Liquide Holdings, Inc., the award is in memory of Charles H. Glasier, a leader in the industry, a strong supporter of safety, and a former CGA chairman (1980) and active participant in CGA for more than 40 years. The award was created in 1994 and is presented annually to
an individual in recognition of their safety leadership in the industrial gas industry. The award was presented to Duane Young of Airgas SAFECOR.

Environmental Recognition Awards

Sponsored by Linde North America, Inc., the program, created in 2000, enables CGA to identify and share good environmental practices as well as promote environmental awareness and improvements within companies and the industry. The awards are presented annually to deserving individuals, teams, or facilities that have conducted activities that meet identified “environmental excellence” criteria. Awards were given to projects of the following companies:

  • Air Products and Chemicals, Inc., Hometown Electronics, Manufacturing Facility Ammonium
  • Bifluoride Reclamation Project
  • Air Products and Chemicals, Inc., Trexlertown Corporate Headquarters Solar Farm
  • Linde, LLC., AC Transit Hydrogen Fueling Station
  • Praxair, Inc., White Martins Gases Ind. Ltd. Calcium Carbide Plant, Iguatama/MG

For additional information on the winning environmental projects, please contact Catherine Hammond at CGA, 703‐788‐2700.


Photos are available on the CGA website -


About the Compressed Gas Association

Since 1913, the Compressed Gas Association (CGA) has been dedicated to the safe manufacture,transportation, storage, transfilling, and disposal of industrial and medical gases and their containers. CGA represents member companies that provide engineering and scientific expertise necessary to develop consensus safety standards; provide safety information and warnings about the chemical or physical properties of gases and their containers; and provide technical training and education. CGA is an American National Standards Institute (ANSI) accredited Standards Developing Organization and works directly with Federal, State and Provincial agencies and fire code officials to promote safe and responsible practices and regulations. For more information, visit